To Blog or Not to Blog

I’ve always considered myself an early adopter when it comes to technology. I’m not one of those over the top “I must have it the moment it goes on sale or the second I can sign up for it” type of people (the iPhone 4 doesn’t count), but I have always felt comfortable with new tech and willing to take it on. We had a computer back when they ran DOS and my parents had to finance it, I had a CD changer in my car when people were still rocking Discmans on tape adapters, and I even had a MySpace account when it literally was my space, because no one else I knew was on it. I always saw opportunity in technology and for that reason I eagerly took it on.

Being the hip, tech savvy one that I am (c’mon that’s funny), I started blogging in college. It wasn’t an assignment for class (my professors were still teaching us such new applications as PowerPoint and Access), but rather it served as my online journal. I wrote about the things I was doing, my opinions about life, and even took to Blogger as a way to reason my way through being dumped by the girl I thought was the one (err, uh, I mean, I broke up with her). It was a way I could write (which I love) and reflect on life as I was living it. Doogie Howser and his IBM PS/2 would be so proud.

As I began teaching, I took my old college Blogger account and repurposed it as a class blog. We recorded our daily homework assignments, class news, and random viral videos I felt worthy of spreading to the masses (or at least my kids). I even started a second blog that I would write posts on for students and their families. I would write about what I did over Winter Break or the ideas we had to change the world. It was a great way to let my kids learn more about me and show them that writing could be fun.

So here I am in 2010, and I haven’t blogged in over four years. Sure, I’ve done some blogging for grad school, but nothing inspired completely by me. For the past several months I have been wrestling with the question, should I start blogging again, or not? (Spoiler Alert: I started blogging again.) As I have connected with so many amazing educators via Twitter, I have thoroughly enjoyed reading their blogs. I love reading about their successes, failures, rants, praises, or just sharing what they have to say. I realized I have things to say too.

So here I am. I’ve jumped upon my digital soapbox and I am ready to let my voice be heard. I hope to add to the education conversation, but most importantly I’m excited to have a place to write, reflect, and get feedback from other people who care about education as much as I do.

photo: http://www.vintage-computer.com

About Timothy Gwynn

Tim is an Instructional Technology Facilitator in North Carolina by way of Arizona. His transcontinental experience gives him the unique ability to not only appreciate a well made glass of sweet tea, but also spell the plural form of cactus without hesitation. He currently works at a K-5 school and is passionate about Educational Technology. Tweet him at @tgwynn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to To Blog or Not to Blog

  1. Jerelyne @jneman says:

    Nice job – look forward to reading more of your posts! Looking at moving from personal blogging to professional in the next few weeks – seeing others like yourself take a leap like this pushes me get moving on it. 🙂

  2. I’m so glad you’re blogging again. Doogie would most definitely be proud!

    It’s funny that today is the day you posted your blogging purpose. I have a post in draft almost ready to go out about WHY I blog. Over the years, the purpose has changed. What is important is that we learn from our own reflection; but more importantly, we learn from the interaction we have with others on our blogs and theirs (that’s why I like leaving comments).

    Welcome back. 🙂

  3. Lori Sabo says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere. I just started one too. Those amazing twitter people inspired me as well. Cheers. Lori

  4. Welcome back! You have a great voice. I look forward to hearing more from you.

  5. @mmeveilleux says:

    I had forgotten about the Doogie Houser blog. He was ahead of his time.

    You have a great writing style & I’ll be interested to keep reading your blog!

  6. lyncreates says:

    Posted earlier from the wrong account. Hate that.
    Found your blog after attending your #rscon10 presentation… very inspiring, and I have to say I loved all of your graphics. Any presentation that includes a visual of Zack Morris is top notch in my book. Also appreciated your examples of technology integration in action. I’m looking to embed the ISTE standards into our PA curriculum… it’s a doozy of a job, but I need to focus on kids and the curriculum.

    • timgwynn says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words. In regards to embedding the ISTE NETS, I think you’ll be amazed at how naturally they fit into the curriculum when we teach in a way that kids prefer to learn.

  7. Morgan says:

    So… I’m glad you started blogging because somehow I find what you write to be both intelligent and hysterical, an unlikely and uncommon combo, that I whole heartedly appreciate.

    Plus, I think we may be around the same age because I seem to love your usage of Doogie, the Zach Morris phone (from rscon10), and “Video Killed the…”

    You seem genuine, which I think is a factor that is so often missing in blogs, articles, books, life…

    Good for you. 🙂

    • timgwynn says:

      Morgan,
      Thank you so much for the kind words. I love to write and be witty so I’m glad you appreciate my ramblings. I write how I speak, which often leads to lots of tangents and run on sentences, but I’m not sure I would have it any other way.
      I came across your blog the other day when you wrote about a Facebook account for your school. I also just started following you on Twitter, so I look forward to continuing the conversation.

    • Tim Gwynn says:

      Thanks Zac. It’s been a slow start as this year has been full of lots of changes. However, each time I write I remember how much I love it and realize I need to do more and more of it. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

